APPENDIX 2 COASTAL POLICY AREA

The criteria used to define the landward extent of the COASTAL POLICY AREA is as follows:

1 Landscape values

This criterion has provided the main basis for determining the landward extent of the COASTAL POLICY AREA in the New Plymouth District. The reason for this is because natural landscapes and visual outlooks of the seascape (e.g. the sea, dune areas, coastal cliffs) tend to be what most people associate with the coastal environment.

Two key public ROADS are used for viewing the coast:

- State Highway 3 from north of the Mohakatino River to New Plymouth.
- State Highway 45 from New Plymouth to Okato.

A good portion of the COASTAL POLICY AREA actually follows the seaward boundary of these ROADS as they provide extensive public views of the coast and they also provide a good physical delineation mark for administrative purposes.

2 Presence of geological landforms which are the result of the processes of marine erosion or deposition

This criterion extends to geological features, such as dunes, dune lakes, marine terraces, estuaries, and coastal cliffs. South from the northern boundary of the district, marine terraces are prominent to Tongaporutu. In the Pukearuhe to Mt Messenger area, active marine erosion has removed any marine terrace deposits and therefore criterion 3 has largely been used.

From Pukearuhe to Waitara, the marine terraces tend to extend inland several kilometres. The extent of this area is balanced against criterion 1 and therefore the COASTAL POLICY AREA will generally extend 500m back from Mean High Water Springs. From New Plymouth to Okato volcanic flows and ash deposits from Taranaki, Pouakai and Kaitake overlay marine deposits and therefore this criterion has not been able to be used. In some areas, the line extends inland to include specific geological features such as the Waipu Lagoons and the lagoons adjacent to the Omata tank farm.

3 Indigenous flora commonly associated with the coastal environment

This criterion is based largely on the coastal bioclimatic zone previously determined through two separate survey reports undertaken as part of the Protected Natural Areas Programme (PNA) for the North Taranaki District and the Egmont Ecological Region (1986 and 1991 respectively). In describing ecological districts and regions for survey in the PNA Programme, bioclimatic zones were delineated, recognising the correlation between the distribution of species and ecosystems and climate. The coastal bioclimatic zone for both the Egmont Ecological Region and the North Taranaki Ecological District is described as that area generally within 1km of the coastline, where the vegetation is exposed to salt-laden winds and where temperatures are mild and relatively uniform, both diurnally and seasonally, compared with inland areas. Typical indicator species for this bioclimatic zone are taupata, pohutukawa, karo, houpara and coastal TREE daisies.

This bioclimatic zone has been used largely to define the landward extent of the COASTAL POLICY AREA between Tongaporutu and Pukearuhe. This area contains the largest remnant of native forest along the coastline. The rest of the district tends to contain small remnants of coastal forest, and is to a large extent given over to pasture.

4 Coastal reserves

This criterion has been used to determine the extent of the COASTAL POLICY AREA in the urban settlements of the district. The line to a large extent follows the boundary of COUNCIL owned reserves in Urenui, Waitara, Bell Block, New Plymouth and Oakura. A number of these reserves will also be zoned as OPEN SPACE ENVIRONMENT AREAS.