FACT SHEET 2022 election 8 OCTOBER 2022



What does Council do?

The District Council meets regularly to make many decisions that impact the day-to-day lives of people in the New Plymouth District. The Council governs a wide range of local services including roads, water systems, rubbish collection, libraries, parks, community centres, dog registration, community and economic development and district planning.

Background

Local government triennial elections are being held by postal vote on Saturday 8 October 2022 and will be undertaken by Election Services, under contract to New Plymouth District Council.

The single transferable voting (STV) electoral system will be used for the New Plymouth District Council elections and the first past the post (FPP) electoral system will be used for the Taranaki Regional Council elections.

2022 Key Dates

Nominations open	Friday 15 July
Nominations close	Noon, Friday 12 August
Delivery of voting packs	from Friday 16 September
Close of voting	Noon, Saturday 8 October
Official results announced	Thursday 13 October

Who is being elected?

Following a decision to establish a Māori ward in 2021, New Plymouth District Council undertook a representation arrangements review (review of wards, boundaries, numbers of elected members etc).

As a result of this, elections will be required for the following positions:

- Mayor (elected 'at large')
- Councillors (14)
 - At-large (5)
 - Kaitake-Ngāmotu General Ward (6)
 - Kōhanga Moa General Ward (1)
 - North General Ward (1)
 - Te Purutanga Mauri Pūmanawa Māori Ward (1)
- Community Board Members (20)
 - Clifton Community Board (4)
 - Inglewood Community Board (4)
 - Kaitake Community Board (4)
 - Puketapu-Bell Block Community Board (4)
 - Waitara Community Board (4)

- Taranaki Regional Council Members either:
 - 5 members from the New Plymouth General Constituency; or
 - 2 members from the North Taranaki General Constituency; or
 - 1 member from the Taranaki Māori Constituency

There will be no district health board elections in 2022.

How can I be nominated?

Nominations for these positions will open on Friday 15 July 2022 and close at noon on Friday 12 August 2022.

Nomination papers will be available during this period from:

- New Plymouth District Council's Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth
- Bell Block Library and Service Centre, 188 Parklands Avenue Shopping Centre, Bell Block
- Inglewood Library and Service Centre, 46 Rata Street, Inglewood
- Waitara Library and Service Centre, 15A Queen Street, Waitara
- by accessing www.npdc.govt.nz
- by telephoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate **must** be:

- a New Zealand citizen (by birth or naturalisation ceremony); <u>and</u>
- enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand) on either the general or Māori electoral roll, irrespective of the ward being nominated for; <u>and</u>
- nominated by two electors whose names appear on the electoral roll within the respective area that a candidate is standing for.

A detailed candidate information handbook will be available from April 2022.

Who can vote?

Those eligible to vote are all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the electoral roll when it closes on Friday 12 August 2022. The Preliminary Electoral Roll will be available for public inspection from **Friday 15 July 2022** to **Friday 12 August 2022** at the above locations.

<u>Resident Roll</u>: All parliamentary electors, including those on the Māori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live. Any alterations to the Resident Roll (e.g. change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:

- completing the appropriate form at any postal agency;
- phoning 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 36 76 56)
- accessing the Electoral Commission website on: www.vote.nz

<u>Ratepayer Roll:</u> If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll. A firm, company, corporation or society paying rates on a property may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (provided the nominated person resides outside the area). Ratepayer Roll enrolment forms are available wt www.npdc.govt. nz, or by phoning 0800 922 822.

All electors will be able to vote for the Mayor, the five 'at-large' councillors and the respective community board members. In addition, those electors on the general electoral roll will be able to vote for the respective general ward councillors and those on the Māori electoral roll will be able to vote for the Māori ward councillor.

How to vote?

Voting packs will be sent out in the mail to all those who have enrolled from **Friday 16 September 2022.**

The voting period is three weeks (Friday 16 September 2022 to noon Saturday 8 October 2022). Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the orange pre-paid envelope sent with their voting document.

Polling places for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available from Friday 16 September 2022 to noon, Saturday 8 October 2022 at:

- New Plymouth District Council's Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth
- Bell Block library and service centre, Parklands Avenue Shopping Centre, Bell Block
- Inglewood library and service centre, 46 Rata Street, Inglewood
- Waitara library and service centre, 17 Queen Street, Waitara

Special votes will <u>only</u> be available during the voting period from New Plymouth District Council's Civic Centre, 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth, or by telephoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by **noon Saturday 8 October 2022.**

Progress results will be announced in the afternoon on election day. Preliminary results will be known on Sunday, 9 October 2022, and final results will be known on Thursday 13 October 2022. All results will be accessible on Council's website: www.npdc.govt.nz

2022 NEW PLYMOUTH DISTRICT COUNCIL MAPS







Contact us



Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Independent Election Services Ltd Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland PO Box 5135, Victoria Street West, Auckland 1142 Email: info@electionservices.co.nz Phone: 0800 922 822 Helen Begg, Corporate Policy Officer New Plymouth District Council 84 Liardet Street, New Plymouth Private Bag 2025, New Plymouth 4340 Email: helen.begg@npdc.govt.nz Phone: (06) 759 6060